About Us

PBC was established in the year 1961 by the Swedish Alliance Mission following a decision made by the field comittee of the Swedish Alliance Mission in 1960. The first development took place in 1961 under the leadership of the missionaries Evert and Lisa Nilsson who continued developing the college until their retirement in 1990. The first student intake was twelve male students and the medium of instruction was Zulu. In 1965 a woman division was added to PBC with the first intake of 17 students.

In 1990, the TEE department of The Alliance Church in South Africa (TACSA) under the leadership of Rev Olof Hjalmefjord became Phumelela Bible School Extension even though it functioned independent of the residential school. In the year 1988, Phumelela Bible School became Phumelela Bible College. in 1990, Rev Olof Hjalmefjord became the rector of the Phumelela Bible College and introduced the English stream. He continued to serve God at PBC, thereafter he handed over the baton to Rev. L Manaka in 1997. Rev L Manaka contributed a lot during his time, he introduced the formality in the graduation ceremony. He led the college until 2008.

In 2009 Minster J Jozini continued as an acting rector and also contributed a lot towards the develpment of the college. In 2010, Rev Moses Jele took over the leadership of PBC as the rector and has led the college until end of 2012. Through the help of the former rectors and the staff, he managed to register the college as an independent entity. He then pioneered the development of the college website www.pbcth.co.za. From the beginning of 2013 Minister S.E Nkosi took over as a rector of PBC to date

Phumelela Bible College is registered as a non-Profit Company under section 14 of companies Act of 2008, with the registration number NPC K2011/121024/08 There is a PBC Council headed by a Chancellor, the Deputy Minister of the Social Development, her honourable Ms BM Ntuli, with her vice Chancellor, the college rector. The Council constits of 10 extra members. The bishop of the TACSA, the chairperson of the NPI, the overseer of the NCA and NTTC are the ex-officio members of the council. 4 members of the council form a board of directors, with the rector as a manager, one member serving as a secretary, the other as a treasurer, and the last one as an additional member.

Related articles